Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SSO Season Finale – The Rite of Spring – with Spencer Myer, Piano

April 25, 2015 @ 7:30 pm - 10:00 pm

On this evening, Maestro Rhodes & the SSO celebrate the splendor of our 71st season with an evening of favorites from Wagner, Rachmaninoff & Stravinsky. The program opens with Overture to Tannhäuser by Wagner. Piano soloist Spencer Myer, one of the most outstanding pianists of his generation, returns to Springfield MA for one of Rachmaninoff’s most enduringly popular pieces – the Piano Concerto No. 2. The finale program of the SSO season concludes with Stravinsky’s beautiful & avant-garde Rite of Spring – widely considered to be one of the most influential musical works of the 20th century.


  • Wagner, Overture to Tannhäuser (Dresden)
  • Rachmaninoff, Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
  • Stravinsky, The Rite of Spring

Springfield Symphony Orchestra performances are 7:30 PM at Springfield Symphony Hall, 34 Court Street, Springfield MA 01103 • Doors open at 6:00PM • Join us for “Classical Conversations at 6:30pm • Children under 4 are not allowed in the Hall


Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
Springfield, MA 01103 United States
+ Google Map