Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Springfield Symphony Orchestra, FEARLESS WOMEN

March 11 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Springfield Symphony Orchestra

Mark Russell Smith | Conductor
Wei Luo | Piano

Joan Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
Florence Price The Mississippi River Suite (excerpt)
Louise Farrenc  Symphony No. 3
Sergei Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2

Our celebration of women in music commences with Joan Tower’s bold and dramatic Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman. You’ll then be swept up by the nineteenth-century contrapuntal master Louise Farrenc’s beautiful and elegant Symphony No. 3 and an excerpt from Florence Price’s flowing yet turbulent Mississippi River Suite. Young and fearless piano virtuosa Wei Luo closes the program with Sergei Prokofiev’s powerful Piano Concerto No. 2.


Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
Springfield, MA 01103 United States
+ Google Map